Posted in Blog Posts

It’s Time YOU Listen To Me

Do not try to turn me into something that I’m not.

Do not hint at what you dislike about me so that I will change.

Trying to turn me into the person you want me to be?

ย “Cool,” provocative, wild, and worldly free.

I am not the reflection you wish to see in the mirror.

What is this sense of control you want over me?

Don’t you dare try to tell me who I am.

Never good enough. Never strong enough. Not pretty enough. Not smart enough.

And who are you to say these things?

Are you the creator above who said I am fearfully and wonderfully made?

NO…

NO, I am not a puppet among others.

You will not pull my strings to make me move to your beat.

I will not walk to the rhythm you prepare for me.

Do not leave your remarks for me to see.

There’s absolutely nothing you can tell me.

I am no longer interested in what you have to say.

Continually, you have tried to mold me into something less than my worth.

You went every extra mile to break what confidence I had.

You laughed at me. You mocked me. When I tried to be the person I so desperately wanted to be, you doubted me…

So now, on the other side I stand.

No whispers in my ear. No drowning in my fears.

I will be the reflection I wish to see.

I will pull my own strings and walk to the rhythm I prepare.

No longer are you choosing who I get to be, or what I get to do.

I will be the me I want to be, be the me I was meant to be, be the me I was created to be…

Now that, I will be.

Note To Insecurities

Terica โค๏ธ

8 thoughts on “It’s Time YOU Listen To Me

    1. Yeah, when I wrote it, I did too. Glad it spoke to you! ๐Ÿ™‚

      I’m on your page visiting your blog, and this is what was cool. I was reading your post, “7 healing things I did when my first love ended in heartbreak,” and I was about to leave you the comment.. “I needed that.” It’s cool how we both fed off of each other w/o even knowing. That is a powerful post! I’m glad I had the chance to read it.. And that song “tell your heart to beat again” is powerful in itself. Thanks for sharing Savannah. Such a blessing to run across such beautiful posts! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. How awesome is that?? Don’t stop writing. Your encouraging so many hearts that need it! Thanks for the read too ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment